State of Hatrokya (claim)

Nation Name (long): The State of Hatrokya
Nation Name (short): Hatrokya

Motto: ελευθερία δίνει ευημερία (Elefthería dínei evimería - Freedom gives prosperity)
National Flower/Plant: Simeroneia, is a plant that opens its leaves when in contact with light.

Capitol: Koralia.
Largest City: Niherlerzeri.

Demonym: Hatrokyan.
Language: Hellenian and Karan.
Species: Humans.
Population: 8.7 million.

Government type: Elective monarchy with direct democracy.
Leader(s): Ikiz Sultan (queen), Giannis Loulodiou Pasha (prime minister)
Legislature: General Citizen Assembly.
Formation: 1802.

Total GDP: 68.9 billion.
GDP per capita: 7,919
Currency: Thelum.

Calling Code: +802
ISO 3166 code: HR, HTR.
Internet TLD: .htr

Historical Summary: The Koyluleri (Turks) and the Korikoi (Greeks) arrived in the region simultaneously in the 17th century. The Korikoi created an advanced civilization, while the Koyluleri stuck to agricultural practices. In 1772, a wealthy landowner from the north of the country, Abdul Kadir Bey, rose up and declared the Kuruviyi Sultanate. The Koyluleri formed their own country with an elective monarchy, with Abdul Kadir being the first sultan. In 1779, the Korikoi created the Republic of the South, a state where direct democracy prevailed and the country’s president was elected by the General Citizens’ Assembly. After many years, the reunion of the north and the south was accomplished by Andreas Dimitropoulos, a philosopher who created the concept of Hatrokya as a unified entity in 1832. In 1834, the figure of the King of Hatrokya, the so-called functional nobility, was created and the institution of direct democracy.
The King of Hatrokya is chosen from the 10 highest noble families every 7 years through a system where the people choose the Constable of their area, who in turn choose the Elector and these electors choose the King. The government lasts 6 months, the prime minister is elected after a lottery in the General Citizen Assembly after passing an exam and manages to be elected among the candidates. Those who make up the Assembly are the members of Parliament elected by their own local citizen assemblies.

Following a vote on April 7th, 2023, this nation claim has been APPROVED by a vote of 5-2-0. Further votes will be amended to this post as they come in.